Skip to main content

Long, Browning elected WVU Student Government Association leaders

Two people stand side-by-side with Woodburn Hall in the background.

Abigail Browning (left), a psychology major from Hurricane, and Charlie Long, a political science and philosophy dual major and member of the Honors College from Charleston, will serve as WVU Student Government Association vice president and president, respectively, for the 2024-25 academic year. (Submitted Photo)

Download full-size

The campaign for West Virginia University student body president and vice president ended Wednesday evening (March 6) as the Student Government Association Judicial Court certified Charlie Long and Abigail Browning as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2024-25 academic year.

Long, a member of the Honors College from Charleston, is a junior political science and philosophy dual major. He currently serves as the chief of staff for the Student Government Association, a New Student Orientation Leader for Undergraduate Admissions and president of the Pre-Law Society.

“Abi and I could not be more honored to step into the roles of student body president and vice president,” Long said. “We can't wait to start tackling the issues that students care about — safety, campus life and campus morale — and one thing is for certain, we will never let our peers down.”

Browning, from Hurricane, is a junior psychology major minoring in law and legal studies and criminology. She is a 2023 Nolan Burch Greek Leadership Academy Fellow who serves as a content manager for the Pre-Law Society and director of alumnae relations for Delta Gamma.

“I would like to congratulate all the newly elected SGA leaders,” said Thanh Le, director of Student Engagement and Leadership. “The passion for student advocacy was truly evident through the campaigning period and I’m excited about the future of the Student Government Association.”

The election was held with in-person voting on Tuesday and Wednesday (March 5-6). Students also had the option of requesting absentee ballots.

The SGA consists of an elected president, vice president, 26 college senators and 12 senators at-large.

The 12 students elected to the SGA student senate are: Shelby Davis, Warnakulasuriya Raveen Fernando, Domenick Hoh, Andrew Indomenico, MJ Jones, Molly Meeker, Alexander Olivero, Matthew Olivero, Andrew ONeal, Emma Plymale, Colin Street and Elise Vuiller.

The following students were elected to their respective college senator positions:

Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources
Isabella Hart
Abbie Lieving
Madison Morgan

College of Applied Human Sciences
Peyton Bielinski
Logan Lipkovitch

College of Creative Arts
Madison Shaffer

College of Law
S. M. Ibrahim Khalilullah

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design
Olivia Schmieder

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences
Adeline Barbour
Isabella Ferrell
Lilly Henson 
Olivia Robinson
Tris M. Silva
Olivia Scholl 

Health Sciences
Catherine Magrogan

John Chambers College of Business and Economics
Elijah Eastman
Sydney Fleece
Julia Lutman
Daniel Madden

Reed College of Media
Rozaireo Jones

The inauguration for the 2024-25 Student Government Association will take place Sunday, April 7, at the Erickson Alumni Center and changing of the seats will be Wednesday, April 17.



WVU Student Engagement and Leadership

Call 1-855-WVU-NEWS for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday.