Skip to main content


WVU to induct six into Order of Vandalia

For their loyalty and service to West Virginia University, six Mountaineers will be inducted into the Order of Vandalia during a Friday (June 7) ceremony. The 2024 inductees are Patricia Bibbee, Sue Day-Perroots, Mike Fulton, Ranjit K. Majumder, Robert Orders and Sophia Peterson.

WVU Board of Governors selects WittKieffer to assist presidential search

A national firm with more than 50 years of experience will partner with the West Virginia University Board of Governors in its search for a new University president. The BOG announced during a special meeting Wednesday (May 29) that it chose WittKieffer which has conducted more than 145 presidential and chancellor searches over the past five years.

WVU BOG approves Rule, advances University presidential search

The search for the next West Virginia University president moved forward Monday (May 6) as the WVU Board of Governors unanimously approved BOG Governance Rule 1.3 — Presidential Selection, Contracts and Evaluation, following a 30-day public comment period. The Rule, which will go into effect 15 business days from now, outlines the guiding principles for the selection, employment and evaluation of the University’s president.

Acclaimed WVU astrophysicist elected to elite National Academy of Sciences, a first for the University

Maura McLaughlin, West Virginia University Eberly Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been selected as a new member of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors in the scientific world. “Professor McLaughlin’s election signifies the continued growth of WVU as one of America’s great research universities,” WVU Vice President for Research Fred King said.