Skip to main content

Four students named WVU Mountaineers of Distinction

people stand in a line on a football field

Mountaineers of Distinction Madison Bowers, Ashley Eby, Grant DuVall and Sarah Snider are flanked by student workers from WVU Arts & Entertainment Tess Humbertson, (left) and Claire Dursa (right) who assisted with the awards presentations. (WVU Photo/Brian Persinger)

Download full-size

West Virginia University has named Madison Bowers, Ashley Eby, Grant DuVall and Sarah Snider 2021 Mountaineers of Distinction. The award, presented during Mountaineer Week, recognizes exemplary academic achievement and extracurricular involvement.

These honorees, who represent a wide range of disciplines but share impressive academic achievements and experiences, were selected by an interview selection panel from a pool of 40 students who were nominated across campus.

The four West Virginia natives were announced as this year’s Mountaineers of Distinction (formerly Mr./Ms. Mountaineer) honorees during halftime of the WVU vs. Oklahoma State football game Saturday, Nov. 6, at Milan Puskar Stadium.

Bowers, a member of the Honors College from Coalton who has maintained a cumulative 4.0 grade point average, is a marketing major. She serves as a Presidential Student Ambassador, certified student leader and student experience coordinator in the Student Government Association. Bowers is sponsored by the WVU Visitors Centers where she serves as a tour captain.

Eby, a member of the Honors College from Wellsburg, is a chemistry and biology major. She serves as the chief medical officer of the WVU Global Medical and Dental Brigades, undergraduate researcher in the Hazlehurst Lab of the WVU Cancer Institute and volunteers her time to the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center and Mon Health Medical Center. Eby is sponsored by Chi Omega where she has served as president.

DuVall, a member of the Honors College from Bridgeport, is a biology major minoring in addiction studies. He serves as a member of the WVU Men’s Rowing Team, Presidential Student Ambassador, community outreach coordinator for Camp Kesem and a lead tutor for TestWELL. Duvall is sponsored by the WVU Honors College where he serves as a student ambassador.

Snider, a doctor of pharmacy student from Parkersburg, is a four-year member of the American Pharmaceutical Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists. She serves as chair of the International Pharmaceutical Students Federation and a member of the Rho Chi Academic Honors Society and a backpacking camp counselor at Camp Tesahe. Snider is sponsored by the WVU School of Pharmacy where she serves as a student ambassador.

Other Mountaineers of Distinction finalists were: Morgan Glass from Wheeling, Savannah Hays from Mineral Wells, Myya Helm from West Union, Kayla Liptrap from Ravenswood, Elizabeth Satterfield from Independence and Sarah Smith from Morgantown.

In addition to the Mountaineers of Distinction presentation, WVU’s Most Loyals were honored during the halftime ceremonies. The 2021 honorees are Robert “Bob” and Nancy Douglas, Most Loyal West Virginians; Michael Manley, Most Loyal Alumni Mountaineer; Samuel Ameri, Most Loyal Faculty/Professional Staff; and Meghan Reeves, Most Loyal Staff Mountaineer. 

The Most Loyal awards recipients are chosen by a joint committee representing the WVU FoundationWVU Alumni AssociationWVU Staff CouncilWVU Faculty Senate and the Mountaineer Week organizing committee. 



CONTACT: Kristie Stewart-Gale
WVU Arts & Entertainment

Call 1-855-WVU-NEWS for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday. 

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.