Skip to main content

Four elected to WVU Foundation Board of Directors

composite of new foundation board members

Valentina “Tina” Bigalke, Natalie F. Bush, Spencer P. Cavalier and Kevin J. Given are the WVU Foundation's new board members. Pamela Maphis Larrick (bottom row, center) is the new board president.

Download full-size

Three West Virginia University alumni and a graduate of Concord University, all with successful careers in business, healthcare and human resources, were elected to the WVU Foundation Board of Directors at its annual meeting this month.

Serving three-year terms are:

  • Valentina “Tina” Bigalke, who earned both her bachelor’s (international studies) and master’s degrees (industrial relations) from WVU in 1990 and 1993. Bigalke recently became chief diversity officer for PepsiCo after serving as vice president of human resources for the company’s global supply, operations and research & development teams. She lives in McKinney, Texas.
  • Natalie F. Bush, who graduated from WVU with both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in nursing in 1988 and 1990. Bush serves on the nursing advisory boards of several universities, including WVU, Johns Hopkins and University of California-Davis.  She resides in McLean, Virginia.
  • Spencer P. Cavalier, managing director and principal of Matrix Capital Markets Group. Cavalier earned his bachelor’s degree in finance from WVU in 1991. He lives in Laurel, Md.
  • Kevin J. Given of Vero Beach, Florida, who earned his bachelor’s degree in hotel management from Concord University. Given, with more than 30 years of experience in premier resort management, is currently chief operating officer and partner of the Quail Valley Golf Club in Vero Beach.

Clarksburg native Pamela Maphis Larrick (’72), now of Vero Beach, was elected board chair, succeeding Robert O. “Bob” Orders, Jr. (’72) of Saint Albans. Larrick was formerly an advertising and marketing executive who spent her career in New York City. She was CEO/Chairman of two global digital agencies within the IPG Network and CEO/Chairman of Omnicom’s Javelin Agency. In 2005, she co-founded IPG’s Women’s Leadership Network. She is a member of WVU’s Academy of Distinguished Alumni and a past recipient of the WVU Perley Isaac Reed Achievement Award.

John B. Gianola (’75) of Charleston was elected vice-chair. He is a retired managing partner of the Charleston office of the international accounting firm of Ernst & Young. Marcia A. Broughton (’76,’79) of Clarksburg was re-elected secretary. She is an attorney with the law firm of Jackson Kelly PLLC where she heads the firm’s estate and trust practice group in West Virginia.

Michael T. Escue (’92,’98) of New York, New York, and David S. Santee (’82) of Marble Falls, Texas, were re-elected to three-year terms on the board. 

The board also recognized outgoing members Douglas R. Van Scoy (’66, ’68, ’15 Hon). of Sullivan’s Island, South Carolina, and E.G. “Ken” Kendrick Jr. (’65 ) of Phoenix, Arizona, for their many years of service to the WVU Foundation.



CONTACT: Bill Nevin
AVP, Communications
WVU Foundation


Call 1.855.WVU.NEWS for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday.

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.