Skip to main content

Dye, Matheny elected WVU Student Government Association leaders

two girls with long hair in front of a blue, teal, aqua and white background

Kate Dye and Madison Matheny will lead the WVU Student Government Association for the 2019-20 academic year.

Download full-size

The campaign for West Virginia University student body president and vice president ended Wednesday evening (March 6) as the Student Government Association Judicial Board announced Kate Dye and Madison Matheny, as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2019-20 academic year.

Dye is a junior chemistry major from Clarksburg and Matheny is a sophomore international studies and environmental geoscience major from Parkersburg. 

The election was held at various locations across campus Tuesday and Wednesday (March 5-6). 

The Student Government Association consists of a president, vice president, 15 senators and two athletic senators. 

The 15 students elected to the SGA student senate are: Noor Dahshan, Sarah Zanabli, Travis Rawson, Arpan Kumar, Victoria Teufel, Khufu Edwards, Sarah Ihlenfeld, Myya Helm, Dominic Cunningham, Kevin Donnell, Amelia Jones, Josh Harman, Camryn Pressley, Noah Collie and Oriana Ovide.

Tafari Graham was elected athletic senator. 

The inauguration of the 2019-20 Student Government Association will be held March 31 at 5 p.m. in the Marshall Miller Salon of the Erickson Alumni Center. The event will also recognize other student leaders and celebrate the work the 2018-19 government has done during its reign. 



CONTACT: Thanh Le, Student Engagement and Leadership

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.