Skip to main content

WVU’s top seniors honored with 2018 Order of Augusta, Outstanding Seniors award

Portrait photos of Daniel Berrebi, Sara Berzingi, Garrett Burgess, Tanner Filben, Anna Gilpin, Trevor Kiess, Savannah Lusk and Grant Robertson

Download full-size

Eight students who collectively “reflect West Virginia University’s mission and vision” have been honored with the Order of Augusta, WVU’s most prestigious student honor. 

“When we recognize some of our soon-to-be graduates with the Outstanding Senior award and the Order of Augusta, we celebrate their extraordinary achievements so far,” said Provost Joyce McConnell. “But perhaps even more exciting, we anticipate their future achievements, knowing they will make our world a better place, today and tomorrow.”

The students come from a variety of backgrounds, but share impressive academic achievements, profound volunteer efforts and Mountaineer spirit.

“This year’s outstanding seniors not only exceed expectations in the classroom, but collectively reflect our University’s mission and vision,” said Dean of Students Corey Farris. “They are among our most highly accomplished students who have excelled in undergraduate research, community service, leadership, and global opportunities. I am certain that this Mountaineer cohort will continue to accomplish great things after graduation-in West Virginia and beyond.”

These students, who are among 41 students named WVU Foundation’s Outstanding Seniors, will be honored at a ceremony Thursday (May 10) at 10 a.m. at the Erickson Alumni Center.

The 2018 Order of Augusta scholars are all members of the WVU Honors College:

Daniel Berrebi, from Morgantown, will graduate with degrees in biology and Spanish and a minor in business administration. He is the president of the TriBeta Biological Honors Society, fundraiser chair for the WVU Global Medical and Dental Brigades, and serves as a student ambassador for the WVU Foundation and Undergraduate Admissions.
Read more about Berrebi.

Sara Berzingi, from Morgantown, will graduate with degrees in biology and English with a concentration in professional writing and editing. She is a two-term president of the Muslim Student Association, has served as the diversity executive for the Student Government Association, and a former student ambassador for the Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.
Read more about Berzingi.

Garrett Burgess, from Elkview, will graduate with degrees in political science and Russian studies and a minor in foreign literature in translation. He is the former wing commander of the Air Force ROTC Detachment at WVU, president of the WVU Model United Nations, president of the Russian Club, an avid runner, and was named the 2017 Mr. Mountaineer.
Read more about Burgess.

Tanner Filben, from Glen Dale, will graduate with a degree in biomedical engineering and a minor in computer science. He is the assistant executive director of the Mountaineer Maniacs, a member of the Biomedical Engineering Society, and a former intern to the director for athletics of the Student Government Association.
Read more about Filben.

Anna Gilpin, from Martinsburg, will graduate with a degree in biomedical engineering and a minor in statistics. She is the vice president of the Biomedical Engineering Society, member of the Society of Women Engineers, associate editor for the Mountaineer Undergraduate Research Review, and former executive director for recruitment and retention for the Student Government Association.
Read more about Gilpin.

Trevor Kiess, from Elkins, will graduate with an accounting degree and a minor in pre-law and legal studies. He is the director of community service for the Mountaineer Maniacs, a member of Mountain Honorary, Mortar Board Senior Honorary, and has held several leadership positions in the Student Government Association.
Read more about Kiess.

Savannah Lusk, from Covel, will graduate with a degree in exercise physiology. She is a member of the Helvetia Honorary, Chimes Junior Honorary Society, the WVU chapter of Our Children, Our Future, Model United Nations Club, Mortar Board Honorary, and has served at the 2016-17 alternate Mountaineer Mascot.
Read more about Lusk. 

Grant Robertson, from Wheeling, will graduate with a degree in biochemistry and minors in biology and sociology. He serves as the technology chair of the American Chemical Society, community service chair for Alpha Epsilon Delta, a member of WVU Collegiate NCAAP Chapter, and WVU Students Optimistic for Curing Kids.
Read more about Robertson.

Established in 1995 to signify the 40th anniversary of the WVU Foundation, the Outstanding Seniors award recognizes students for their contributions and achievements in scholarship, leadership and service. 

The Order of Augusta further recognizes the students’ superior scholarship, demonstrated leadership and record of community and public service. The award is named for its historical significance in the state. Augusta was among the original names considered by the Legislature when the state seceded from Virginia in 1863.

The remaining 33 WVU Outstanding Seniors are:

Rosalynn Andrade; Beckley (Honors College)

Jessica Arvon; Charleston (Honors College)

Faith Baldwin; Saint Clairsville, Ohio

Megan Barthelmess; Hurricane (Honors College)

Cassidy Bland; Wellsburg (Honors College)

David Buch; Beckley (Honors College)

Emily Columbus: Brentwood, Pennsylvania 

Wijdan Dabeek; Mecca, Saudi Arabia 

Alyssa Diehl; Chardon, Ohio

Lindsay Elliot; Moseley, Virginia (Honors College)

Yacine Feliachi; Morgantown (Honors College)

Audrey Geise; Allentown, Pennsylvania (Honors College)

Morgan Goff; Weirton (Honors College)

Ahmed Haque; Bridgeport (Honors College)

Nicole Hegele; Odd (Honors College)

Jason Horvath; North Royalton, Ohio (Honors College)

Riley Imlay; Huntington (Honors College)

Allyson Karnell: Cincinnati, Ohio (Honors College)

Elizabeth Keim; Glen Dale

Raven Kennedy; Paynesville

Morgan King; Charleston (Honors College)

Zachary Koenig; Charleston (Honors College)

Abigail Lusk; Man 

Arin Migaiolo; Morgantown (Honors College)

Jared Peterson; Morgantown 

Courtney Pyatt; Fayetteville (Honors College)

Jordan Riggs; Wheeling (Honors College)

Morgan Stemler; Nestorville (Honors College)

Luke Stover; Saxon (Honors College)

Rachel Tallman; Morgantown (Honors College)

Patrick Thomas; Hurricane (Honors College)

Hunter White; Clendenin (Honors College)

Jeffrey Zopp; Milton 



CONTACT: Corey Farris
Student Life; 304.293.5811

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.