Skip to main content

Justice makes WVU Board of Governors appointments; new officers elected

No thumbnail image for this story
Download full-size

Gov. Jim Justice has recently appointed two new and reappointed two current members to the West Virginia University Board of Governors.

New members are Charleston attorney Timothy C. Bailey and Elmer F. Coppoolse, chief operating officer of The Greenbrier and managing partner of Glade Springs.

Bailey will serve a full four-year term, replacing Morgantown business woman Diane Lewis, who was ineligible for reappointment; Coppoolse will serve through 2018, filling the unexpired term of Greg Babe, who resigned because of increasing business obligations. Both Bailey and Coppoolse will be eligible for reappointment.

Reappointed to full terms were Wheeling attorney William Wilmoth and NASA astrophysicist Kim Weaver.

“I want to thank Gov. Justice for appointing impressive members to our Board of Governors, providing us with a broad range of expertise,” President Gordon Gee said. “These individuals care deeply about our state and this institution, and will be key leaders as we work hard to continue the momentum their predecessors have started. 

At its last regular meeting, the board had elected Wilmoth as chairman, along with other officers David Alvarez as vice chairman and Taunja Willis Miller as secretary. All terms are one year beginning July 1.



CONTACT: John A. Bolt; University Relations/Communications


Grant Herring; Office of the Governor

Follow @WVUToday onTwitter.