Skip to main content

Obioma, Yachini elected WVU Student Government Association leaders

Isaac Obioma (left) and Abbi Yachini (right)
Isaac Obioma (left) and Abbi Yachini (right)
Download full-size

The campaign for West Virginia University student body president and vice president ended Thursday evening (March 8) as the Student Government Association Judicial Board announced Isaac Obioma and Abbi Yachini, as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2018-19 academic year.

Obioma is a junior international studies major from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and Yachini is a junior political science major from Follansbee. 

The election was held at various locations across campus Wednesday and Thursday (March 7-8). 

The Student Government Association consists of a president, vice president, 15 senators and two athletic senators.  

The 15 students elected to the SGA student senate are: Adam Craig, Kate Dye, Gage Fortney, Owen Gray, Cailyn Hall, Tyler Greathouse, Mike Hamrick, Peyton Keener, Madi Matheny, Lora McDonald, Stephen Murphy, Zainab Rana, Kareem Shammaa, Roark Sizemore, Dominique Villasenor and Zainab Rana.

Chad Dye and Drew Spearko were elected athletic senators. 

The inauguration of the 2018-19 Student Government Association will be held at the Erickson Alumni Center on Sunday, March 25. The event will also recognize other student leaders and celebrate the work the 2017-18 SGA. 

To learn more about SGA, visit



CONTACT: Thanh Le, Student Engagement & Leadership

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.