Skip to main content

Cunningham and Hageboeck named 2017 WVU Homecoming queen, king

No thumbnail image for this story
2017 WVU Homecoming King Charlie Hageboeck and Queen Morgan Cunningham
Download full-size

A week of Homecoming activities at West Virginia University culminated today (Oct. 14) with the crowning of Morgan Cunningham and Charlie Hageboeck as the 2017 king and queen. 

The announcement was made during the half-time ceremony at Saturday’s Homecoming football game against Texas Tech. 

Selected by their peers during two days of voting, Cunningham and Hageboeck were surrounded by members of the Homecoming Court, the Mountaineer Marching Band along with the Alumni Marching Band, and tens of thousands of cheering fans, including alumni, who striped Milan Puskar Stadium in gold and blue. 

Cunningham, a member of the Honors College, is a senior chemical engineering major minoring in business administration from Richmond, Virginia. She serves as the Panhellenic vice president of education and vice president of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). She is a member of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE), Omega Chi Epsilon and Chi Omega Direction of Friendship. Cunningham is the recipient of the WVU Academic Excellence Scholarship and the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resource Academic Scholarship. She is sponsored by Chi Omega sorority. 

Hageboeck, a senior finance major from Charleston, serves as the vice president of Phi Kappa Psi fraternity. He also serves as the senior manager for the WVU Women’s Soccer team, and previously served in various executive positions with SGA and the WVU College Republicans. Hageboek transferred to WVU from the United States Merchant Marine Academy, where he received three congressional nominations to the Academy. He is sponsored by Phi Kappa Psi fraternity. 

Other queen candidates were: Caitlin Daniels, a senior elementary education major with an emphasis in English from Morgantown; Raphaelle Greco, a senior elementary education major from York, Pennsylvania; Lauren Harvey, a senior strategic communications major with an emphasis in public relations minoring in arts admininstration and communication studies from Mannington; and Jordin Wilcher, a senior biochemistry major from Buckhannon. 

The other king candidate was Nick Sordillo, a senior forensic and investigative science major and a member of the Honors College from Forest Hill, Maryland. 

Dan Carder, Arvind Thiruvengadam, Greg Thompson, Marc Besch and Hemanth Kappanna, the innovative team at the Center for Alternative Fuels Engines and Emissions, known as CAFEE, served as the Homecoming parade grand marshals Friday evening (Oct. 13). 

The 2017 WVU Alumni Association’s Chapter and Service Awards were also presented at halftime. 

This year’s recipient of the David Jacobs Lifetime Service Award is Clarke Ridgway; Dr. Antonio (Tony) S. Licata is the recipient of the Outstanding Alumnus award; the Margaret Buchanan Cole Young Alumnus award recipient is Dr. Lisa Costello; the Paul “Buck” Martin Traditions award honoree is Royce Watts; the James McCartney Community Service award recipient is Dr. Joseph Reed; and this year’s recipients of the John F. Nicholas Jr. Outstanding Chapter Leader award are Doc and Kari Walker. For more on these honorees, visit here. 

For more information on all Homecoming activities, visit 



CONTACT: Susan Fusco, 304.293.2506 

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.