Skip to main content

2016 Benedum Distinguished Scholars to present public lectures on quantum mechanics, the economics of sports, innovation in science, and the first modern war

The Bendedum Scholars feature

The 2016-17 Benedum distinguished scholars. 

Download full-size

The four 2016-2017 Claude Worthington Benedum Distinguished Scholars will present highlights of their award-winning research in individual lectures this fall, beginning this week. All members of the campus and local community are invited to attend these lectures and the receptions following.

The faculty members named Benedum Distinguished Scholars for 2016-2017 were announced last spring. They are:

·       Aldo Romero, Department of Physics and Astronomy

·       Brad Humphreys, Economics

·       Paul Lockman, Centers for Neurosciences

·       Katherine Aaslestad, History

The Benedum awards can be given in four categories, all of which are represented for the 2016-2017 cycle: behavioral and social sciences, biosciences and health sciences, humanities and the arts, and physical sciences and technology.

Award winners each receive $5000 in professional development funds, along with an opportunity to share their research with the campus community in a lecture. This award is made possible by the Office of the Provost and an endowment from the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation. This fall, the lecture schedule will be as follows:

Aldo Romero will speak on “From Life, Chemistry to Materials, All Use the Same Glue: Quantum Mechanics” Sept. 27 at 4 p.m. in the Milano Room of the WVU Downtown Library.

Brad Humphreys will speak on “Some Inconvenient Facts About the Economics of Sports in America” Oct. 12 at 4 p.m. in Salon C of the WVU Erickson Alumni Center. 

Paul Lockman will speak on “Disruptive Innovation in Science” Nov. 2 in the Fukushima Auditorium at the Health Sciences Center.

Katherine Aaslestad will speak on “Fighting Napoleon: The First Modern War and Its Aftermath in Central Europe” Nov. 7 in the Milano Room of the WVU Downtown Library.

For more information about the lecture series or the Benedum Distinguished Scholars Awards program, contact the office of Dr. C.B. Wilson, the associate provost for academic personnel, at 304.293.2021 or



CONTACT: Donna Pancoast; Office of the Provost


Check daily for the latest news from the University.

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.