Could not find the given file.

Skip to main content

WVU experts available after Tuesday’s State of the Union address

Could not find the given file.

Could not find the given file.

Experts at West Virginia University are available to provide insight and comment on President Donald Trump’s second State of the Union Address planned tomorrow (Feb. 5).

Immigration and international politics

Alison Peck is the director of WVU’s Immigration Law Clinic. Her areas of expertise include immigration law and deferred action for childhood arrivals. She can be contacted at 304.293.8288 or alison.peck@mail.wvu.edu.

Erik Herron is a professor of political science. He is an expert in political institutions, eastern European and Eurasian politics, including Ukraine and Russia. His contact information is 304.293.3811 or Erik.Herron@mail.wvu.edu

Constitutional law 

Bob Bastress is the John W. Fisher Professor of Law. He is an expert in the U.S. Constitution and employment discrimination. His contact information is 304293.5308 or robert.bastress@mail.wvu.edu.

Anne Lafaso is the Arthur B. Hodges professor of law. Her areas of expertise include the U. S. Constitution, the U. S. Supreme Court and Labor Law. She can be contacted at 304.293.7356 or anne.lafaso@mail.wvu.edu.

Health and public policy

Chris Plein is an Eberly Professor of Outstanding Public Service. His expertise includes public policy formation and implementation, and his research has concentrated on the study of social programs, particularly the effects of welfare reform and state health policy. He can be reached at 304.293.7974 or Chris.Pelin@mail.wvu.edu.

Simon Haeder is an assistant professor in the department of political science in the John D. Rockefeller IV School of Policy and Politics, and a Fellow in the Interdisciplinary Research Leaders Program. Haeder, who can offer insights on the Affordable Care Act and other public health policies, is available at Simon.Haeder@mail.wvu.edu.

Dr. Clay Marsh, the vice president and executive dean of health sciences, leads the academic health sciences center of WVU. Marsh has concentrated his efforts in determining how to help individuals stay healthy and how to create ecosystems to make this easy.

Judith Feinberg is a professor in the department of behavioral medicine and psychiatry. She is an expert in opioid overdose, substance abuse and harm reduction.

Media requests for Marsh and Feinberg should be directed to Tara Scatterday at 304.293.0630 or tdscatterday@hsc.wvu.edu.

Dr. James Berry is an associate professor and the medical director of both the Chestnut Ridge Center and the Inpatient Acute Dual Diagnosis Program. His specialties include behavioral medicine and he has special training in the treatment of addiction and substance abuse.

Dr. Marc Haut is the chair of the WVU Department of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry. He also serves as psychology section chief, program director of neuropsychology, research advisor and professor in the departments of behavioral medicine and psychiatry, neurology and radiology.

Media inquiries for Berry and Haut should be directed to Angela Knopf, 304.285.7259 or knopfa@wvumedicine.org.

Economics and trade

Christina Fattore is an associate professor of political science. She is an expert in international trade and development and international relations. She can be reached at 304.293.9538 or Christina.Fattore@mail.wvu.edu.

William Franko is an assistant professor of political science. His areas of expertise include political and economic inequality and class politics. He can be reached at 304.293.9577 or William.Franko@mail.wvu.edu.

John Deskins is director of the Bureau of Business and Economic Research in John Chambers College of Business and Economics. He can be contacted at 304.293.7876 or John.Deskins@mail.wvu.edu.

Brian Lego is a research assistant professor and economic forecaster for BBER. He can be reached at 304.293.7829 or Brian.Lego@mail.wvu.edu.

Energy, environment and climate change

James Wood is the interim director of WVU’s Energy Institute. His areas of expertise include clean coal, the power industry and sustainable energy and trade. Media inquiries should be made through Tracy Novak at 304.293.6928 and tracy.novak@mail.wvu.edu.

Timothy Carr is the Marshall Miller professor of geology and is working to develop energy resources that will be required in the future, while protecting the environment, including CO2 storage. He can be reached at tim.carr@mail.wvu.edu.

Michael McCawley is a clinical associate professor in the department of occupational and environmental health sciences in the School of Public Health. He can offer commentary on air quality, miners’ health and water assessment. He can be reached at 304.293.8042 or mamccawley@hsc.wvu.edu.

Robert Duval is a professor in the department of health policy, management and leadership. His areas of expertise include climate change, global health and national security policy. He can be reached at 304.581.1826 or RDuval2@hsc.wvu.edu.

Steve DiFazio is a professor in the department of biology. His areas of expertise include climate change, bioenergy and forest health. He can be contacted at 304.293.5314 or Stephen.DiFazio@mail.wvu.edu.

Eungul Lee is an assistant professor of geography. His areas of expertise include climatology and climatological analysis. Lee can be reached at 304.293.8485 or eungul.lee@mail.wvu.edu.

Steve Kite is an associate professor of geography and geology with an expertise in surficial geology mapping, floods, landslides, debris flow and stream restoration. He can be reached at 304.293.5603 or steve.kite@mail.wvu.edu.

Education

Nathan Sorber is an associate professor of higher education administration. He is an expert in higher education state and federal policy. He can be contacted at 304.293.5928 or Nathan.Sorber@mail.wvu.edu.

Erin McHenry-Sorber is an assistant professor in higher education and can comment on the state’s teacher shortage and rural school-community conflict. She can be reached at 304.293.2090 or ecmchenrysorber@mail.wvu.edu.

Donna Peduto is the executive director of the West Virginia Public Education Collaborative which is composed of various educators that have come together to champion public education from early childhood to post-secondary levels. Her contact information is 304.293.5447 or dpeduto@mail.wvu.edu.

West Virginia University experts can provide commentary, insights and opinions on various news topics. Search for an expert by name, title, area of expertise, or college/school/department in the Experts Database at WVU Today.

-WVU-

pp/02/04/19

CONTACT: University Relations/Communications
304.293.6997

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.