Skip to main content

Astrophysics Research

WVU names 2021 class of Ruby Fellows

Six students pursuing doctoral degrees at West Virginia University are receiving funding through the Ruby Scholars Graduate Fellows Program. This year’s fellows are Kelsey Bentley, Julia Ivey, Anuj Kankani, Claire Kelly, Zoe Pagliaro and Matthew Waalkes.

Unraveling the mysteries of the cosmos: New telescope at Green Bank Observatory will improve localization of Fast Radio Bursts

Thanks to a $1.7 million National Science Foundation grant awarded to Kevin Bandura, assistant professor in the Lane Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering in the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, a new telescope is slated to be built at the Green Bank Observatory to pinpoint the locations of FRBs in far off galaxies, enabling the ability to finally discover the nature of these enigmatic objects.

WVU researcher to tackle the mysteries of dark energy and the universe beyond

Though it makes up roughly 70 percent of the universe, dark energy is one of the greatest cosmological discoveries that is the least understood among scientists. A new project led by West Virginia University researcher Kevin Bandura will help scientists understand the nature of dark energy by mapping out the distribution of matter throughout the universe.

WVU students lead upgrades to Green Bank Telescope

A critical advancement for astrophysics research led by a team of West Virginia University physics and astronomy students will allow astronomers to be seven times faster in mapping a galaxy. The new radio camera at the Green Bank Telescope is the first of its kind in the U.S.

How colliding neutron stars could shed light on universal mysteries

An important breakthrough in how we can understand dead star collisions and the expansion of the universe has been made by an international team that includes researchers with the Center for Gravitational Waves and Cosmology at West Virginia University.