Skip to main content

Santmyer, Dozier elected WVU Student Government Association leaders

This is a side-by-side portrait of Madison Santmyer and Brogan Dozier, the new WVU Student Government Association president and vice president.

Madison Santmyer (left), a member of the WVU Honors College from Purcellville, Virginia, will serve as president of the WVU Student Government Association for the 2023-2024 academic year. Brogan Dozier, a sophomore from Charles Town, will service as SGA vice president. (Submitted photos)

Download full-size

The campaign for West Virginia University student body president and vice president ended Wednesday evening (March 8) as the Student Government Association Judicial Court certified Madison Santmyer and Brogan Dozier as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2023-24 academic year.

Santmyer, a member of the Honors College from Purcellville, Virginia, is a political science and international studies major minoring in Spanish and globalization. She currently serves as the senator-at-large and chair of the Inclusion Committee with the Student Government Association, vice president of diversity, equity and inclusion for Alpha Phi and founder and president of Women in Politics and Government.

“Brogan and I are excited to get started on truly bridging the gap between students and SGA and we couldn’t be more grateful for those who voted and supported us,” Santmyer said. “We hope to address DEI and mental health on campus, accessibility and the student experience. Ultimately, we plan to start a conversation on opening a multicultural center at WVU and a downtown location for the Carruth Center.”

Dozier, from Charles Town, is a sophomore journalism major minoring in political science and criminology. She serves as the vice president of The National Association of Black Journalists-WVU Chapter, president of Mirage Magazine and college senator for the Reed College of Media

“SGA elections are one of my favorite experiences as the director of Student Engagement and Leadership,” said Thanh Le. “I enjoy meeting the passionate candidates who love the University and want to help improve the student experience, and I look forward to working with this new team of devoted student leaders.”

The election was held by in-person voting on Tuesday and Wednesday (March 7-8). Students also had the option of requesting an absentee ballot.

The SGA consists of an elected president, vice president, 26 college senators and 12 senators at-large.

The 12 students elected to the SGA student senate are: Zachary Bromley, Gabrielle Frazier, Carter Leadmon, CJ Miller, Bella Randle, Susie Risk, Mai-lyn Sadler, Olivia Scholl, Matthew Olivero, Mark Vodianyi, Hannah Weeks and Anna Witt.

The following students were elected to their respective college senator positions:

John Chambers College of Business and Economics

Bailey Cahill 

Claire Dursa

Julia Lutman

Daniel Madden

College of Applied Human Sciences

Peyton Bielinski

Logan Lipkovitch

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design

Garrett Oursler

Olivia Schmieder

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

Hyder Arastu 

Lilly Henson

Andrew Indomenico

Garrison Phillips

Caitlin Shiels

Joanna Switala

Health Sciences

Lauren Dysart

Mackenzie Kaminski

Reed College of Media

Tayler Pillo

Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

Saif Abbas 

Riley Coulter

Huzaifa Farooq

Ian Jackson

The inauguration of the 2023-24 Student Government Association will take place Sunday, April 16, at the Erickson Alumni Center and the changing of the seats Wednesday, April 19.



WVU Student Engagement and Leadership

Call 1-855-WVU-NEWS for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday.

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.