Skip to main content

Hernandez, Uqaily, elected WVU student government president, VP

women stand shoulder to shoulder

Chloe Hernandez and Pareera Uqaily are the president and vice president, respectively, for the 2022-23 academic year. The pair represent the first female-minority ticket to win an SGA presidential election. (Submitted Photo/ Raafay Uqaily)

Download full-size

The campaign for West Virginia University Student Government Association ended Wednesday evening (March 9) as the SGA Judicial Court certified Chloe Hernandez and Pareera Uqaily as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2022-23 academic year. The pair represents the first female-minority ticket to win an SGA presidential election.

Hernandez, a junior double-majoring in neuroscience and psychology from Lorton, Virginia, is the first Hispanic woman elected to the post. She currently serves as the senator-at-large with the Student Government Association, vice president of philanthropy for the Panhellenic Association and vice president of recruitment for the Professional Greek Council. Hernandez is a member of Minorities Association of Pre-Healthcare Students, Mi Gente and Delta Gamma. She also serves as a Mountaineer Guide for the WVU Visitors Centers.

“Pareera and I are deeply humbled to serve as your next student body president and vice president,” Hernandez said. “We are excited to carry on the legacy of previous administrations and strive towards a stronger WVU.”

Uqaily, a member of the Honors College from Morgantown, is a junior double-majoring in accounting and management information systems. She currently serves as a college senator with the Student Government Association, president of Delta Sigma Pi and fundraising chair for Women in Business. Uqaily also serves as the finance chair for the Management Information Systems Association, a member of WVU Global Business Brigades and a peer mentor for the Honors College.

“The students campaigning over the past few days have been amazing,” said Thanh Le, director of Student Engagement and Leadership. “The passion for fostering a safe and inclusive student experience is evident through all the students campaigning.”

The election was held on WVUENGAGE Tuesday and Wednesday (March 8-9).

The SGA consists of an elected president, vice president, 25 college senators and 12 senators at-large.

The 12 students elected to the SGA student senate are: Maria Amores, Laasya Chennuru, Avery Conner, Deacon De’Andre Hodges, Brooke Jones, Azeem Khan, Devin Price, Ryan Robinson, Madison Santmyer, Raafay Uqaily, Lauren Volk and Emily Whalen.

The following students were elected to their respective college senator positions:

Chambers College of Business and Economics

  • Bailey Cahill
  • Conrad Molinaro

College of Education and Human Services

  • Lauren Marquart

College of Creative Arts

  • Alexis Zoglio

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design

  • Jillian Blair
  • Lily Neilson

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

  • Taylor Delong
  • Alisha Griffith
  • Brandon Neiswonger
  • Megan Skean
  • Caleb Von Kuffner
  • Quinn Wooten

Health Sciences

  • Grace Aiello
  • Matthew Hudson
  • Brooklyn Milam

Statler College of Engineering

  • Tommy Azinger
  • Amina Irfan
  • Rushik Patel
  • Sandrik Tabidze

Transition of the new leadership is slated for Wednesday, April 13.



Student Engagement and Leadership

Call 1-855-WVU-NEWS for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday.

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.