Skip to main content

Riggs, Bragg elected WVU Student Government Association leaders

two young men stand together, arms around each other

Chase Riggs (R) and Jaron Bragg (L) will serve as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2020-21 academic year. (WVU Photo)

Download full-size

The campaign for West Virginia University Student Government Association leadership ended Wednesday evening (March 11) as the SGA Judicial Court announced Chase Riggs and Jaron Bragg as president and vice president, respectively, for the 2020-21 academic year.

“I have always had a passion for helping people and as a West Virginia native, it is an honor to represent the University and my home state as the student body president,” Riggs said. “Jaron and I look forward to improving the overall Mountaineer experience.”

Riggs is a junior political science major minoring in business from Bridgeport and Bragg is a sophomore political science major from Shady Spring.

“Chase and I are humbled by all of the students who came out to vote for the VISION ticket,” Bragg said. “We will continue to advocate for our peers across campus and encourage them to reach out to us with any questions or concerns.”

The election was held on WVUENGAGE Tuesday and Wednesday (March 10-11). 

The SGA consists of an elected president, vice president, 20 college senators and 17 senators at-large. 

The 17 students elected to the SGA student senate are: Jaxon Brooks, Micaela Colbert, Dominic Cunningham, Sohan Daniel, Kevin Donnelly, Ashley Eby, Josh Harman, Sarah Ihlenfeld, Amaya Jernigan, Amelia Jones, Victoria Knotts, Arpan Kumar, Haden Miller, Tucker Nadeau, Colton Nichols, Alexis Rossello and Sarah Zanabli.

The following students were elected to their respective college senator positions: Theodore Stackpole, Chambers College of Business and Economics; Zac Backus, College of Education and Human Services; Jonathon Hanson, College of Law; Katie Eyler, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences; Travis Rawson, Health Sciences; Lily McKnight, Reed College of Media; and Hunter Moore and Tyler Seidel, Statler College of Engineering

“A common theme emerged during my interactions with the students—a passion for serving their student body,” said Thanh Le, director of Student Engagement and Leadership. “All the candidates are passionate about student concerns and issues and truly want to invest their energy to make WVU the best it can be for students.” 

A date for the inauguration of the 2020-21 Student Government Association has not been determined. The event will also recognize other student leaders and celebrate the work that the 2019-20 SGA has completed while holding office. 



Student Engagement and Leadership

Call 1-855-WVU-NEWS for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday. 

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.