Skip to main content

WVU experts available for comment throughout legislative session

large dome against blue sky

Download full-size

West Virginia University experts are available to media members for expert comment on topics that affect state residents, both in response to the State of the State document and throughout the 2022 legislative session.

This list is supplemented by WVUToday’s Expert Database.

ECONOMY

John Deskins: Director, WVU Bureau of Business and Economic Research. john.deskins@mail.wvu.edu.

Danny Twilley: Assistant dean, Brad and Alys Smit Outdoor Economic Development Collaborative. Talent attraction and retention, outdoor community development, outdoor recreation asset development, business development, workforce development. danny.twilley@mail.wvu.edu

William Franko: Assistant professor, political science. Causes and consequences of political and economic inequality. 304-293-3811; william.franko@mail.wvu.edu

Heather Stephens: Assistant professor of resource economics and management. Effect of policies across regions, energy, environmental and regional economics. heather.stephens@mail.wvu.edu.

EDUCATION

Erin McHenry-Sorber: Associate professor, education. West Virginia’s educator shortage, educational policy, rural schools and communities. 304-293-2090; ecmchenrysorber@mail.wvu.edu

Matthew Campbell: Associate professor, education. Teacher recruitment and retention, teacher education and development. 304-293-4714; mpcampbell@mail.wvu.edu 

MENTAL HEALTH

Carrie Rishel: Director, professor, Rural Integrated Behavioral Health Training Program. Mental health, social work. 304-293-6377; carrie.rishel@mail.wvu.edu

SUBSTANCE USE DISORDERS

Dr. Judith Feinberg: Professor, infectious diseases. Substance misuse, harm reduction, opioid overdose. Cassie Thomas is the contact for Dr. Feinberg. 304-293-5255; cassie.thomas@hsc.wvu.edu

Frankie Tack: Clinical assistant professor, mental health and addiction studies. Effects of opioid addicted parents on public school students and the additional skills and resources classroom teachers need. 304-293-5703; frankie.tack@mail.wvu.edu

PUBLIC HEALTH

Dr. Thomas Bias: Associate professor, health policy, management and leadership. State and local public health policy, policy evaluation. Nikky Luna is the contact for Dr. Bias. 304-293-1699; nikky.luna@hsc.wvu.edu

Valarie Blake: Professor, health care law. Intersections between health care delivery and ethics along with how increasing state and federal regulation of health care financing and delivery will impact chronic disease, health insurance and professionalism in medicine. 814-243-7813; valarie.blake@mail.wvu.edu

HEALTH

Dr. Lisa Costello: Assistant professor, pediatric medicine. Pediatric immunizations. Cassie Thomas is the contact for Dr. Martinez. 304-293-3412; cassie.thomas@hsc.wvu.edu

Dr. Ivan Martinez: Associate professor, microbiology, immunology, cell biology. Immunology. Cassie Thomas is the contact for Dr. Martinez. 304-293-3412; cassie.thomas@hsc.wvu.edu

LAW AND PUBLIC POLICY

James Van Nostrand: Professor, College of Law. Energy and regulated industries, environmental law, emissions trading, administrative law. 304-777-6050; james.vannostrand@mail.wvu.edu

Patrick McGinley: Professor, College of Law. Environmental, administrative, land use and natural resources, constitutional law and environmental justice. 304-552-2631; patrick.mcginley@mail.wvu.edu

Samuel Workman: Director, professor, Institute for Policy Research and Public Affairs. Policy research, public affairs. 304-293-4611; sam.workman@mail.wvu.edu

Chris Plein: Professor, public administration. Public policy formation and implementation, effects of welfare reform and state health policy. 304-293-7974; lplein@wvu.edu

Karen Kunz: Associate professor, public administration. Public administration, public budgeting, economic fiscal policy, political economy, financial markets regulation. 304-293-7972; karen.kunz@mail.wvu.edu

John Kilwein Associate professor, political science. Judicial politics, public law, public policy. 304-293-9576; jkilwein@wvu.edu

INFRASTRUCTURE

Hota GangaRao: Wadsworth Professor, Director Constructed Facilities Center.  Infrastructure, bridges. 304-293-9986; hota.gangarao@mail.wvu.edu 

David Martinelli: Professor, Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Infrastructure management, transportation planning. 304-293-9936; david.martinelli@mail.wvu.edu

West Virginia University experts can provide commentary, insights and opinions on various news topics. Search for an expert by name, title, area of expertise, or college/school/department in the Experts Database at WVU Today.

-WVU-

pp/01/12/22

MEDIA CONTACT: Shauna Johnson
News and Information Manager
University Relations/Communication
304-293-8302; sjohns13@mail.wvu.edu

Call 1-855-WVU-News for the latest West Virginia University news and information from WVUToday.

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.