Skip to main content

WVU experts available for insight, commentary related to State of the State address, legislative session

No thumbnail image for this story
Download full-size

In his second State of the State address, Gov. Jim Justice will present his vision for West Virginia today (Jan. 10), as the regular session of the 2018 West Virginia Legislature begins.

Several West Virginia University faculty, administrators and staff members will be available to offer insights and expert commentary to the media tomorrow night, in the days following Justice’s speech and throughout the legislative session.

Rob Alsop is WVU’s vice president for strategic initiatives. He can be reached at 304.293.5772 or rob.alsop@mail.wvu.edu.

Dr. Ali Rezai is the director of the Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute and is a board-certified neurosurgeon whose clinical expertise include the neurosurgical and neuromodulation management of patients with Parkinson’s disease, dystonia, chronic pain, brain and spinal cord injuries and severe mood and anxiety disorders. Dr. Rezai may be reached through Amy Johns at 304.285.7264 or JohnsA@wvumedicine.org.

John Deskins is director of the WVU Bureau of Business and Economic Research. He can be reached at 304.293.7876 or John.Deskins@mail.wvu.edu.

Brian Anderson is the director of WVU’s Energy Institute and is the GE Plastics Material Engineering Professor of Chemical Engineering. He can be reached at 304.293.6631 or Brian.Anderson@mail.wvu.edu.

Timothy Carr, WVU’s Marshall Miller professor of geology, is working to develop the energy resources that the people of the world require over the coming century, while protecting the environment. His current study areas concern unconventional resources and CO2 storage and utilization in North America, Europe, Middle East and Asia.

 He can be reached at Tim.Carr@mail.wvu.edu.

Vice President and Executive Dean of Health Sciences Dr. Clay Marsh leads the academic health sciences center of West Virginia University. A national leader in personalized medicine and in pulmonary and critical care medicine, Marsh has concentrated his efforts in determining how to help individuals stay healthy and how to create ecosystems to make this easy. Media requests should be directed to Bill Case at bill.case@hsc.wvu.edu or Tara Scatterday at tdscattterday@hsc.wvu.edu or 304.293.0630.

Joyce McConnell is the Provost and Vice-President of Academic Affairs at WVU. All media inquiries for Provost McConnell can be directed to Ann Claycomb at Ann.Claycomb@mail.wvu.edu.

Rochelle “Rocky” S. Goodwin is senior associate vice president for academic and public strategy in the Provost’s office. She works to support WVU’s land grant mission through partnerships with academic and public leaders, community redevelopment, and economic development. Goodwin can be reached at 304.400.4963 or ragoodwin@mail.wvu.edu.

Frank DeMarco is an associate professor of hospitality and tourism management in the College of Business and Economics, an initiative that focuses on tourism as an economic development tool. He can be reached at 304.614.1000 or Frank.DeMarco@mail.wvu.edu.

Heather Stephens, an assistant professor of resource economics and management. She can be reached at 304.293.5639 or heather.stephens@mail.wvu.edu.

Brian Lego is a research assistant professor and economic forecaster for BBER. He can be reached at 304.293.7829 or Brian.Lego@mail.wvu.edu

Steve Cutright is the director of WVU’s Brickstreet Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. He can be reached at 304.293.7221 or steven.cutright@mail.wvu.edu.

Simon Haeder is an assistant professor in the WVU John D. Rockefeller IV School of Policy & Politics and the Department of Political Science. His research focuses on healthcare and health policy (including the Affordable Care Act, Medicaid, CHIP, Medicare, provider networks, provider quality and insurance regulation), regulatory politics, and state and local government. He can be reached at Simon.Haeder@mail.wvu.edu or 559.908.2704.

Gypsy Denzine, dean of the College of Education and Human Service, is a professor of educational psychology and conducts research in the area of college student development, learning and motivation. She can be reached at Gypsy.Denzine@mail.wvu.edu.

Dr. James Berry is an associate professor and the medical director of both the Chestnut Ridge Center and the Inpatient Acute Dual Diagnosis Program. His specialties include behavioral medicine, and he has special training in the treatment of addiction and substance abuse.

Marc Haut is the chair of the WVU Department of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry. He also serves as psychology section chief, program director of neuropsychology, research advisor and professor in the Departments of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry, Neurology and Radiology.

Dr. Berry and Dr. Haut may be reached through Amy Johns at 304.285.7264 or JohnsA@wvumedicine.org

Valerie Blake is an associate professor in the WVU College of Law. Her expertise and research is on the intersection between healthcare delivery and ethics, including the Affordable Care Act. She can be reached at 304.293.8639 or valerie.blake@mail.wvu.edu.

Karen Kunz, an associate professor in the Department of Public Administration. She can be reached at Karen.Kunz@mail.wvu.edu.

Bob Roberts, chief and director of the University Police Department, is available to speak on issues of preparedness, campus safety and emergency communication. He can be reached at 304.293.3136 or bob.roberts@mail.wvu.edu.

West Virginia University experts can provide commentary, insights and opinions on various news topics. Search for an expert by name, title, area of expertise, or college/school/department in the Experts Database at WVU Today.

-WVU-

pp/01/10/18

CONTACT: University Relations/Communications
304.293.6997

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.