Seven West Virginia University faculty members have been awarded research grants in the University’s first year of participation in the Big XII Faculty Fellowship Program.

The program, which is only open to faculty members at institutions in the Big XII Athletic Conference, is intended to “stimulate scholarly initiatives through creation of an academic community” across the member institutions, according to the official call for applications. Faculty may use their grant money to “work on collaborative research, consult with faculty and students, offer a series of lectures or symposia, acquire new skills, or take advantage of a unique archive or laboratory facility.” The 2013-14 award cycle marks the first year that WVU faculty have been eligible to participate and submit applications for the awards.

The WVU Big XII Faculty Fellows for 2013-14 are: Valena Beety, College of Law Yoav Kaddar and Joseph Lupo, College of Creative Arts Blake Mertz, Rita Rio, and Earl Scime, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences and Jessica Troilo, College of Education and Human Services.

“We received a number of excellent applications for these awards,” said C.B. Wilson, associate provost for Academic Personnel, whose office oversaw the awards process at WVU. “The number and diversity of our Big XII Faculty Fellows clearly demonstrates the caliber and commitment of all our scholars and researchers. We’re delighted to be a part of this program and look forward to participating for years to come.”



CONTACT: University Relations/News

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.