West Virginia University’s College of Human Resources and Education recently honored its 2012 Hall of Fame recipients and student scholars at ceremonies held at the Erickson Alumni Center. The awards began in 2004 and are sponsored by the HR&E Visiting Committee. Hall of Fame inductees are individuals with a record of outstanding achievements and who have contributed in a significant way to the vision and mission of the College.

Chosen for Hall of Fame induction were: Dr. Franklin Parker of Crossville, Tenn.; Dr. Molly Brooke Vass-Lehman of Kalamazoo, Mich; and Dr. Diane T. Woodrum -Leuthold of Waynesburg, Pa. A welcome was given by John Golden, chair of the HRE Visiting Committee. Biographical narratives were provided by Carolyn Atkins, professor of speech and audiology and chair of the nominations committee. The presentations were made by Dr. Lynne Schrum, dean of HR&E.

Parker is a WVU Benedum Professor of Education Emeritus. His career includes writing 50 books, more than 200 articles and many blog articles. He has taught history and philosophy of education and comparative and international education at the University of Texas and the University of Oklahoma, at Northern Arizona University and Western Carolina University. His wife Betty has joined him in writing about education and they have researched in Africa, China, England, Eastern and Western Europe. They frequently gave joint lectures and published widely. Dr. Parker has held numerous offices in national organizations, one being the president of the History of Education Society and is a Senior Fulbright Research Scholar to Africa. He is a U. S. Army Air corps veteran and earned his bachelor’s degree from Berea College; his master’s degree from the University of Illinois and his doctorate from Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College.

Vass-Lehman is a WVU alumnus who taught in the counseling psychology and education programs at Western Michigan University and directed the Holistic Health Care Program in the College of Health and Human Services. The program became a national model on the integration of mind/body health approaches into mainstream health care and education. Vass-Lehman received a national teaching award and was a national speaker regarding the impact of the holistic health field on counseling, psychology, medicine and education. She is one of the Founding Fellows of the Fetzer Institute and has been key to the development of several programs, including the PBS Emmy winning series, “Healing and the Mind with Bill Moyers” and other programs that have significantly impacted the fields of health and education in the country. Dr. Vass- Lehman also designed and developed the Fetzer Institute’s retreat center, GilChrist, a contemplative retreat center for individuals and groups. She earned her bacherlor’s degree in 1974, her master’s in 1976 and her doctorate of education in 1978.

Woodrum Leuthold completed her master’s degree and doctorate of education from WVU and also earned degrees from Marshall University and Loyola College. She is a licensed school psychologist for Fremouw-Sigley Psychological Associates in Morgantown, and works with children, families, and WVU students. She retired from higher education in July 2011 after spending 22 years at WVU, where she was a professor of special education and helped design the special education component of the Benedum Five-Year Teacher Education Program. She served as chair of the Faculty Senate and Graduate Council and received the HR&E Outstanding Teacher Award three times. For the last 10 years, Woodrum-Leuthold has been the chair of the education department at Waynesburg University in Waynesburg, Pa., and often serves as an expert witness in court cases involving special education.

Outstanding student awards were presented by the HR&E Alumni Association, president, Kay McCroy. Ahna Lewis and Molly Drescher, both of Morgantown, earned the Dr. William G. Monahan Award. The award is named in memory of the former dean of the College and recognizes students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship, leadership and service. Lewis won for graduate education while Drescher won for undergraduate education.

H&RE Outstanding Departmental Awards were bestowed by the HR&E Alumni Association to Kaitlin Buchanan of Morgantown; Molly Drescher of Charleston; Jenica Hughes of Scott Depot; Allison Miller of Shepherdstown; Lindsey Mowery of Upper Tract; Allison Nettles of Beckley; Rachel Viglianco of St. Albans and Ann Lefavor of Ester, Alaska. Also honored at the event were over 200 HRE undergraduate and graduate students named as recipients of scholarships established through the WVU Foundation, Inc.


Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.

CONTACT: Christie Zachary, Human Resources and Education
304-293-5703, christie.zachary@mail.wvu.edu